Skip to main navigation.
Facebook Icon Image

Mark your calendar for September 7th... SIEC's 78th Annual Meeting!


What you’re missing at the annual meeting!

Did you know every cooperative is required to conduct an annual meeting of the membership? The purpose is to hold the election for the board of directors, share important financial information, occasionally vote on other matters such as by-law changes and of course––the great door prizes!

Southern Iowa Electric Cooperative’s annual meeting is a community gathering where neighbors can meet new neighbors––or catch up with old acquaintances. As our lives get busier with the “errands of life” and more of our interactions with others are online (via social media), we must renew the value of face-to-face human connections. Very few organizations are uniquely positioned like SIEC to bring together all members of our local communities. 

While rural Americans probably do a better job of staying connected to our neighbors (in part because we need too), it is not something we should take for granted. The simple act of smiling, saying hello and shaking someone’s hand truly lifts both parties.

SIEC’s annual meeting is designed to take care of the important business of your co-op and the equally important business of building a real sense of community. All cooperatives serve both an economic and social purpose. While safe, reliable and affordable electric power is crucial to our mission, improving the quality of life for all members is at the core of what we do every day.

If you have not attended the annual meeting in the past or if it has been a few years, we urge you to take the time to be with your fellow co-op members.

SIEC is connected to you by more than just power lines. We are your neighbors, and we look forward to seeing you at your annual meeting. SIEC’s 78th Annual Meeting will be Thursday, September 7th, with registration beginning at 4:30 p.m. Watch your mail for your annual meeting packet to arrive in August … don’t forget to vote for the director candidate of your choice.  This year’s candidates are Duke Ball, Stephanie Bassett, Wayne Birchmier, Rex Harris, Earl Trachsel, Dave Yahnke and Fred Zeitler. If you vote by mail your name will be entered in a special drawing for a chance to win a $100.00 bill credit!

You don’t want to miss this fun-filled night of great food, entertainment and prizes!!



Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo